Starting line-up, Sunday race TV program

The NASCAR Cup Series is two races away from the championship race in Phoenix.

This Sunday’s race takes place at Homestead-Miami Speedway, the former home of the final race of the season. Almost 18 months have passed since the last race at Homestead, and this is the first time the new car has run at this circuit. This may be the last of the firsts for this year’s new car.

Joey Logano landed his ticket to Championship 4 last Sunday in Las Vegas with a victory after a battle with Ross Chastain in the final laps. Chastain, in the No. 1 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet, is second in points and can help himself in the hunt for the last four with a good day Sunday in South Florida.

One driver who will not be racing at Homestead is Bubba Wallace, who is serving a one-race suspension after destroying Kyle Larson last week in Las Vegas.

Here’s what you need to know about Sunday’s race:

SUSPENSION:NASCAR suspends Bubba Wallace for ‘behavioural’ infraction race in Las Vegas

48 AGAIN: Alex Bowman will miss the next 3 NASCAR races due to concussion

NASCAR: Smoking ‘so crazy’ at NASCAR even as Stewart-Haas drops 1 appeal

NASCAR Cup Series schedule at Homestead

Green Flag Time: 1:30 p.m. CT Sunday

Track: Homestead-Miami Speedway (1.5 mile oval) in Homestead, Florida

Length: 267 laps, 400.5 miles

Steps: 80 laps, 85 laps, 102 laps

TV coverage: NBC

Radio: DNR

Diffusion: NBC Sports app (subscriptions required); and SiriusXM for audio (subscription required)

Practice and qualifications: 9:00 a.m. CT Saturday practice on the NBC Sports app, 9:50 a.m. CT Saturday qualifying on the NBC Sports app

The starting composition of Dixie Vodka 400

Row 1

1. William Byron, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

2. Christopher Bell, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

Row 2

3. Chase Elliott, #9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

4. John Hunter Nemechek, #45 23XI Racing Chevrolet

Row 3

5. Kyle Larson, #5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

6. Ty Gibbs, No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota

Row 4

7. Tyler Reddick, #8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

8. Chris Buescher, No. 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing Ford

Row 5

9. Brad Keselowski, #6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing Ford

10. AJ Allmendinger, #16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

Row 6

11. Kyle Busch, No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

12. Martin Truex Jr., No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

Row 7

13. Ryan Blaney, #12 Team Penske Ford

14. Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

Line 8

15. Justin Haley, #31 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

16. Kevin Harvick, #4 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

Row 9

17. Joey Logano, #22 Team Penske Ford

18. Michael McDowell, No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford

Row 10

19. Chase Briscoe, #14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

20. Ross Chastain, #1 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet

Row 11

21. Harrison Burton, No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford

22. Erik Jones, #43 Petty GMS Motorsports Chevrolet

Line 12

23. Daniel Suarez, #99 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet

24. Noah Gragson, #48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

Row 13

25. Cole Custer, #41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

26. Austin Cindric, Team No. 2 Penske Ford

Row 14

27. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., #47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet

28. Aric Almirola, #10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

Row 15

29. Todd Gilliland, No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford

30. Ty Dillon, #42 Petty GMS Motorsports Chevrolet

Row 16

31. Corey Lajoie, #7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

32. Austin Dillon, #3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

Row 17

33. Landon Cassill, #77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

34. JJ Yeley, #15 Rick Ware Racing Ford

Row 18

35. BJ McLeod, No. 78 Live Fast Motorsports Ford

36. Cody Ware, #51 Rick Ware Racing Ford

NASCAR Cup Series playoff point standings ahead of Homestead

Sunday’s race is the second of three in the round of 8; 4 drivers advance to the next round; a win locks the playoff driver into the next round

1. Joey Logano, won last Sunday’s race in Las Vegas

2. Ross Chastain, +18 ahead of 5th place

3. Chase Elliott, +17

4. Denny Hamlin, +6


5. William Byron, -6 behind 4th place

6. Chase Briscoe, -9

7. Ryan Blaney, -11

8. Christopher Bell, -23

Comments are closed.