Rising star Ty Gibbs takes fourth NASCAR Xfinity victory in Kansas



Ty Gibbs continued his phenomenal NASCAR Xfinity Series rookie season on Saturday with his fourth Kansas Lottery 300 win of the year at Kansas Speedway.

Gibbs overtook defending Series champion Austin Cindric in laps 190 and 200 and beat Team Penske Ford No.22 to the finish line by 0.759 seconds to claim his ninth top five on his 16th start.

“He freed himself up a bit and kind of slowed down in (turns) 3 and 4, and I could go to his left-back and pull him to the side and walk away from him,” Gibbs said, 19 years old. winning pass.

“I escaped there a few times (pointing turns 3 and 4), but I was just trying to give it my all, trying to come back with a win. To have four wins this year in the Xfinity series is nothing short of amazing. “

Gibbs’ victory as a non-knockout driver means at least three drivers will advance to the 4 points championship after next Saturday’s race at Martinsville Speedway. That’s good news for Cindric and AJ Allmendinger (third Saturday), who have made a habit of trading the seed this year.

Cindric and Allmendinger leave Kansas 47 points over the limit for Championship 4, and barring a disaster at NASCAR’s shortest track, both will earn title spots in the November 6 title race in Phoenix Raceway.

“I felt like I could get by with the position on the track and we did a good job being consistent and not making mistakes today,” said Cindric, who won second. stage and led a record 151 laps to 14 for the race winner. . “Maybe if I hadn’t gotten in (around the corner) this high, maybe I could have blocked the air a little better.”

“The cooler it was, the freer I became. I thought the tire cycle would help me, but it didn’t help. I would have loved the win to lock our way in, but it’s better than collapsing in a Kansas playoff race like I’ve done for the past three years. We led a lot of laps but finished second but it could have been a lot worse.

Indeed. Cindric could have suffered the fate of Noah Gragson or Harrison Burton who lost the race on the 179th lap when a misjudged move by Sam Mayer sent Burton’s Toyota into Gragson’s Chevrolet, and both cars hit the front wall. outside.

Burton and Gragson finished 34th and 35th respectively, leaving Gragson sixth in the playoff standings (24 points below the cut line) and leaving Burton eighth (51 points on fourth and in need of a win next Saturday at Martinsville ).

“We were quick today,” said Burton. “We felt like it was a race that we were finally showing what we were capable of, and it’s been a really tough couple of weeks. I don’t know, it’s so frustrating.

The ninth, Justin Allgaier, is nine points above the Championship threshold 4, two points ahead of Saturday’s poleman, Daniel Hemric, who recovered from a spin with Gragson on lap 97 to finish 15th.

Gibbs came back into the field to win despite a penalty for speeding on the pit lane on lap 93 after the end of the second stage.

Justin Haley improved his chances of qualifying for the championship race with a fourth place finish, leaving him fifth in the standings and seven points behind Hemric. Non-qualifying drivers Ryan Sieg, Brett Moffitt, Michael Annett and Sam Mayer finished fifth to eighth respectively.


1. (10) Ty Gibbs #, Toyota, 200.

2. (2) Austin Cindric (P), Ford, 200.

3. (5) AJ Allmendinger (P), Chevrolet, 200.

4. (6) Justin Haley (P), Chevrolet, 200.

5. (14) Ryan Sieg, Ford, 200.

6. (16) Brett Moffitt, Chevrolet, 200.

7. (8) Michael Annett, Chevrolet, 200.

8. (12) Sam Mayer #, Chevrolet, 200.

9. (3) Justin Allgaier (P), Chevrolet, 200.

10. (15) Myatt Snider, Chevrolet, 200.

11. (9) Brandon Jones (P), Toyota, 200.

12. (11) Jeb Burton, Chevrolet, 200.

13. (13) Riley Herbst, Ford, 200.

14. (23) Brandon Brown, Chevrolet, 200.

15. (1) Daniel Hemric (P), Toyota, 200.

16. (22) Bayley Currey (i), Chevrolet, 200.

17. (19) Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 200.

18. (39) Garrett Smithley, Toyota, 200.

19. (38) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet, 200.

20. (27) Jordan Anderson (i), Chevrolet, 200.

21. (25) Kyle Weatherman, Chevrolet, 200.

22. (20) Ryan Vargas #, Chevrolet, 200.

23. (17) Tommy Joe Martins, Chevrolet, 199.

24. (34) Patrick Emerling, Chevrolet, 199.

25. (31) Matt Mills, Chevrolet, 199.

26. (18) Josh Williams, Chevrolet, 198.

27. (28) Dylan Lupton, Toyota, 198.

28. (24) Jeffrey Earnhardt, Chevrolet, 198.

29. (30) Joe Graf Jr., Chevrolet, 198.

30. (29) Jesse Little, Chevrolet, 197.

31. (32) Spencer Boyd (i), Chevrolet, 196.

32. (36) Loris Hezemans, Toyota, 192.

33. (21) Alex Labbe, Chevrolet, 191.

34. (7) Harrison Burton (P), Toyota, Accident, 178.

35. (4) Noah Gragson (P), Chevrolet, Accident, 178.

36. (33) David Starr, Ford, 152.

37. (26) Mason Massey, Toyota, Accident, 133.

38. (35) Jade Buford #, Chevrolet, Accident, 28.

39. (40) Gray Gaulding, Chevrolet, Motor, 13.

40. (37) Joey Gase, Chevrolet, Electric, 2.

Race winner average speed: 112.641 mph.

Running time: 2 hours, 39 minutes, 48 ​​seconds. Margin of victory: 0.759 seconds.

Caution flags: 10 for 46 laps.

Lead changes: 19 out of 6 pilots.

Tour leaders: D. Hemric (P) 0; D. Hemric (P) 1-9; A. Cindric (P) 10-37; A. Allmendinger (P) 38-42; D. Hemric (P) 43; A. Allmendinger (P) 44-47; D. Hemric (P) 48; A. Cindric (P) 49-92; D. Hemric (P) 93-96; A. Cindric (P) 97-106; M. Snider 107; A. Cindric (P) 108-136; T. Gibbs # 137; A. Cindric (P) 138-140; T. Gibbs # 141-142; A. Cindric (P) 143-155; N. Gragson (P) 156-158; A. Allmendinger (P) 159; N. Gragson (P) 160-165; A. Cindric (P) 166-189; T. Gibbs # 190-200.

Summary of the leaders (driver, time in the lead, laps in the lead): Austin Cindric (P) 7 times for 151 laps; Daniel Hemric (P) 4 times for 15 laps; Ty Gibbs # 3 times for 14 laps; AJ Allmendinger (P) 3 times for 10 laps; Noah Gragson (P) 2 times for 9 laps; Myatt Snider 1 time for 1 lap.

Top 10 of the first stage: 16,18,22,54,7,2,9,19,11,1

Top 10 of the second stage: 22,54,18,9,2,16,20,7,8,11


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.